The UCR Library collects resources in chemical engineering supporting both coursework and research conducted by our students and faculty. This is a naturally interdisciplinary topic so tools from both engineering and chemistry are commonly used. We offer subject-specific and general research educational services at the library and provide access to information from the UC Libraries System and beyond.

Conducting Research

Books & Articles

Books are useful for getting a broad introduction or background information for topics in chemical engineering. Search by topic keywords in the Scotty (UCR) catalog or the Melvyl (UC) catalog. 

Scholarly articles are carefully evaluated (peer-reviewed) by subject experts to provide reliable and credible information. Locate articles by searching in the chemical engineering databases. The most popular databases are listed on this page.

Journals

Use the Scotty (UCR) Catalog to find chemical engineering journals. Many are purchased collectively for the entire UC system and can be browsed in the UC Journal Finder

Specialized Resources

Chemical Properties Databases and Handbooks
Getting good data is the key to doing good research. Use chemical properties resources such as the CRC handbook to find chemical data.

Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias such as the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology and Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry are useful for getting an instant summary of a chemical, process or issue in chemical technology.

Patents
Sometimes information you need is not in a book or an article because it was developed for industrial application (i.e. to make money).  Try searching in patent database such as Google Patents or the United States Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO).

Plant and Chemical Costs
To make a complete proposal, it is necessary to know what the plant and operations will cost.

Methods and Protocols
Methods, also known as protocols, describe how scientific procedures are performed.

Quick Reference