The UCR Library collects extensive electronic and print resources to support Religious Studies students and faculty in their research. The collection reflects the research interests and concentrations of the Religious Studies department, with materials in the areas of: Christianity, American religions and religiosity, Islam, Judaism, and Sikh Studies. We offer subject-specific educational services at the library and also provide access to information from the UC Libraries System and beyond.
Books & Articles
Scholarly articles are carefully evaluated (peer-reviewed) by subject experts to provide reliable and credible information. Locate relevant articles by searching in the religious studies discipline databases. The most popular databases are listed on this page.
Many religious studies journals are found electronically and can be browsed in the UC Journal finder. Use the Scotty (UCR) catalog to find both print and electronic journals available in the library.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Reference sources such as Oxford Research Encyclopedia in Religion and the Encyclopedia of Islam are useful for getting a broad overview of criticism, genres and concepts related to religious studies. Those working with primary texts may find dictionary sources like the Digital Dictionaries of South Asia helpful.
Many of the major journals and associations in religious studies maintain online blogs with up-to-date information and articles, including the Bulletin for the Study of Religion, The Immanent Frame, and Religion Dispatches.
- UCR Department of Religious Studies
- UCR Religion Dissertations
- American Academy of Religion
- North American Association for the Study of Religion
- New Books in Religion
- The Religious Studies Project
- USC Center for Religion and Civic Culture
- South Asian American Digital Archive
- UCR Institute for the Study of Immigration and Religion
- Pew Research Center: Religion and Public Life