Breadcrumbs

Using EndNote with UCR Databases (and other resources)

Using EndNote with UCR Databases (and other resources)

Transferring records from databases to EndNote

Direct Export
This option, availabe on some f our databases, allows you to search using the Web interface of the database, and export directly to EndNote.

Direct Connection - Using Connection Files
A connection file is necessary to search an online database from within EndNote. Some connection files come with EndNote automatically, some can be downloaded from ISI and some are below.
1. Choose the Online Search option in EndNote
2. Search
Not all databases can be searched using a connection file. When you download a connection file, you will put it in the Connections folder in your EndNote folder.

Export...Import - Using Filters
A filter is a file which allows EndNote to interpret the results you have downloaded from a database. When you download a filter, you will put it in the Filters folder in your EndNote folder.

Instructions for individual Databases:
For Mac: press control and click on file to download. You may need to remove the extensions.

Database How to do it?
Academic Search Complete Direct Search:
Use this connection file.

Direct Export:
See Ebsco
Agricola (ProQuest) Direct Search:
Use the Agricola (PQ) connection file. Password Required; contact M. Potter .

Direct Export: Turn off pop-up blocker
1. Select desired records
2. Hover over Export/Save
3. Select EndNote, Reference Manager or ProCite
4. Make settings selections and select Continue
5. Look for Download Blocker if nothing happens
6. When the grey box comes up, click on Open
7. Select EndNote library if necessary

Anthropology Plus (EBSCOHost)
Direct Search:
Use the connection file : Anthropology Plus (OCLC)

Direct Export:

  • Perform Search and add desired records to folder
  • Click on folder image
  • Select Items
  • Click on  
  • Select Direct Export In RIS Format...
ATLA Religion Database (via EBSCO)
See EBSCO
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest)
See ProQuest
Bibliography of the History of Art (Getty)
Export...Import
1. Select desired records
2. Click Export
3. Select RIS
4. Save as .txt
5. Import with any RIS filter*
*There may be a field mismatch on Title, please let us know if you have trouble.
Biblioline NISC
(including Child Abuse, Child Welfare and Adoption)
  • Perform search and mark desired records
  • Click on the green "Output" tab
  • Choose "Export to Database"
  • After EndNote opens up a window, choose an EndNote library to important records
BIOSIS (ISI) Direct Search:
Download connection file from EndNote

Direct Export :
1. Select desired records
2. Click on the "Endnote" button above the results list
3. Watch for pop-up/download warnings
4. Select an EndNote Library

Business Source Complete See Ebsco
CAB (ISI) Same as BIOSIS except for the connection file
Chicano Database See OCLC
Communication and Mass Media Complete See Ebsco
Compendex - EI Village Direct Export:
1. Perform search
2. Select Records
3. Click Download
4. Select RIS, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager
5. Select record output format
6. Click Download
Digital Dissertations (Proquest) Direct Search

To be completely honest, consider capturing with Zotero and exporting as an RIS to import into EndNote.
Ebsco Databases Direct Export:
  • Perform Search and add desired records to folder
  • Click on folder image
  • Select Items
  • Click on  
  • Select Direct Export in RIS Format...
EconLit (Proquest) Direct Connection
1. Download this EconLit Connection File .
2. Put file in your connections folder
3. A password is required; please inquire at a reference desk.

Direct Export: Turn off pop-up blocker
1. Select desired records
2. Hover over Export/Save
3. Select EndNote, Reference Manager or ProCite
4. Make settings selections and select Continue
5. Look for Download Blocker if nothing happens
6. When the grey box comes up, click on Open
7. Select EndNote library if necessary

 Education Full Text See Ebsco
ERIC (ProQuest) Direct Searching : On campus or via AnyConnect
1. Download a new connection file from Endnote, if you have trouble
2. Put in in your connections folder
3. Password required, inquire at reference desk

Direct Export: Turn off pop-up blocker
1. Select desired records
2. Hover over Export/Save
3. Select EndNote, Reference Manager or ProCite
4. Make settings selections and select Continue
5. Look for Download Blocker if nothing happens
6. When the grey box comes up, click on Open
7. Select EndNote library if necessary

Ethnic Newswatch See ProQuest
Genderwatch See Proquest
GeoRef (ProQuest) Direct Search: Only on campus or via VPN
1. Use the GeoRef (CSA) file from EndNote.
2. Contact a reference desk for the password.

Direct Export: Turn off pop-up blocker
1. Select desired records
2. Hover over Export/Save
3. Select EndNote, Reference Manager or ProCite
4. Make settings selections and select Continue
5. Look for Download Blocker if nothing happens
6. When the grey box comes up, click on Open
7. Select EndNote library if necessary

Google Scholar

Direct Export
1. Click on "Scholar Preferences"
2. Choose "Show links to import citations into EndNote."
3. When viewing Scholar results, click on "Import into EndNote."

Historical Abstracts See Ebsco
Inspec (ISI) Direct Search: No password required from campus.
Inspec(TS)

Direct Export
See Web of Science
International Index to Performing Arts  See ProQuest
LGBT Life See Ebsco Databases
Library Literature (Full-Text) See Ebsco Databases
LISA See Ebsco Databases
MELVYL Catalog Import: N/A
Direct Search: N/A
MLA (CSA) Direct Searching: Use this connection file (save it in your connections folder in EndNote)
Export/Import: Use this filter (Save it in your filters folder in EndNote)
OCLC Databases
ArticleFirst
PaperFirst
ProceedingsFirst
WorldCat
  1. Perform Search and mark desired records
  2. Click on
  3. In Export box choose
  4. In Export to box choose
  5. Click on
  6. After EndNote opens up a new window choose an EndNote library to import records
  7. Apply appropriate filter
ProQuest (and Proquest Newspapers

Direct Export: Turn off pop-up blocker
1. Select desired records
2. Hover over Export/Save
3. Select EndNote, Reference Manager or ProCite
4. Make settings selections and select Continue
5. Look for Download Blocker if nothing happens
6. When the grey box comes up, click on Open
7. Select EndNote library if necessary

PsycINFO (ProQuest) Direct Search: Only on campus or via Anyconnect.
1. Put this PsycINFO connection file into your EndNote "Connections" folder. Contact a reference desk for the password.

Direct Export: Turn off pop-up blocker
1. Select desired records
2. Hover over Export/Save
3. Select EndNote, Reference Manager or ProCite
4. Make settings selections and select Continue
5. Look for Download Blocker if nothing happens
6. When the grey box comes up, click on Open
7. Select EndNote library if necessary

PubMed Direct Search: This is available from anywhere without a password.

Export...Import:

1. Select desired records.
2. Select Send to and then Citation Manager.
3. Choose "citation manager" on the send to drop down box. 
4. Use the PubMed (NLM) filter, if it asks
Regional Business News See Ebsco Databases
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature See Biblioline
Scifinder Scholar Export...Import
1. Select desired records.
2. Save Records as txt (tagged)
3. Use the Scifinder filter.
SCOTTY Catalog Direct Search: Download the Scotty connection file into your EndNote "Connections" folder.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) See ProQuest
Web of Science (ISI) Direct Search: No password required from campus.
WebofScience (ISI) or WebofScience (TS)
Not for Citation Searching

Direct Export
1. Select desired records
2. Click on the "Export to Reference Software" button
3. Click on "open" when the gray box comes up.

Export...Import
1. Select desired records
2. Select the desired fields
3. Click on "save", select field tagged, and continue.
4. Use the WebofScience (ISI) or WebofScience (TS) filter.
Women's Studies Intl See Biblioline
Worldwide Political
Science Abstracts
See ProQuest
Zoological Record (ISI) Same as BIOSIS except for the connection file

If you need any additional help, please contact Michele Potter

Also visit the official bibliographic manager software sites:
- EndNote at http://www.endnote.com/
- ProCite at http://www.procite.com/
- Reference Manager at http://www.refman.com/
- WriteNote at http://www.writenote.com/
- RefWorks at http://www.refworks.com/

Procite note: To use Direct Export with Procite, it might be necessary to download the plug-in risweb.exe . After downloading the program, just run it, and the proper changes are made to Procite.

Additional Filters/Connection Files

 

 

 

UC-Davis' Guide on Using Filters and Connection Files to Import Citations in EndNote (Highly Recommend)
EndNote Connection Files (ISI)
EndNote Filters (ISI)

Last modified: 7/22/2014 5:00 PM by M. Potter

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012
UCR Career Opportunities
Library Job Opportunities

UCR Library Information

Directions / Mailing Addresses
Tomás Rivera Library: (951) 827-3220
Orbach Science Library: (951) 827-3701
Music Library: (951) 827- 3137
Multimedia Library: (951) 827-5606
UCR Library Visitor Guide

Related Links

Footer

UCR Libraries Facebook UCR Libraries Twitter UCR Libraries YouTube UCR Libraries News UCR Libraries Mobile Website