Breadcrumbs

Anthropology Plus

Anthropology Plus



Anthropology plus combines two anthropology databases into a single set.

  • Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute - journal holdings of the Library of the British Museum Department of Ethnography (Museum of Mankind),
  • Anthropological Literature, Tozzer Library at Harvard University - articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies.

    Search Options There are three ways to search: simple, advanced, and command-line. The default is the simple search.

    Simple Search
    Enter a keyword, author, title word, subject word, abstract word or journal search in the basic search box or any result display screen. All of the words you enter will be present in your results.
    1. Click on your choice of search.
    2. Type your search text in the box.
    3. Press Enter or click Search.

      Command Line Search Command Line provides another way to search for users who are familiar with Eureka Command Line syntax. If you are interested in this type of searching, you can get more information at a reference desk.

      Advanced Searches (offers more search options including Boolean searching)
      Click the Advanced Search link:
      1. Choose an index from the first list.
      2. Type your search term in the first text box.
      3. If you don't need a second search term, click Search.
      4. Choose a second index and a second search term.
      5. Choose one of the Limit options if you would like.
      6. Click Search.
    4. Combining search terms with And, Or and Not

      For more precise results, you can combine search terms using Boolean operators on the Advanced Search screen:
      And (both terms are present) Or (either term is present) Not (exclude second term)

      Truncation
      If you're not sure of the ending of a search term, or would like to allow for multiple endings, use "?".

      Finding Subjects or Topics
      1. Keywordis the broadest form of search. It searches for words in titles, subject headings, abstracts, and author names.
      2. Use Subject Word or Subject if you are familiar with HTSsubjects, or if you find them in other appropriate records.
      3. Use Title Word to locate distinctive words in titles.
      Finding Authors
      Use Author when you know an author's last name. Enter last name, first name or initial (e.g. brown, t or smith, ann). For organization names, type the beginning of the name in correct word order (e.g. united states geological).

      Use Author Word when you know a part of the authors' name (personal or organization) but aren't sure how the name fits together. If multiple author names include the word(s) you use, you will see a list of matching authors.

      Finding Article Titles
    5. Use Title Word to locate distinctive words in titles.
    6. Use Title if you know the exact beginning of the article title. Omit The, An and A as first words.

      Finding Journal Titles
      Use Journal to locate records from a particular journal. Omit The, An and A as first words. Add a question mark "?" if you're not sure of the full name of the journal. If Journal does not yield a result, check the list of journals. If you only know keywords from the journal title, use a Title search.

      Seeing Your Results
      You may see your records in various display formats:
    7. List - includes one line for each record, showing author, title, and year.
    8. Brief - provides more detail, including complete author, title, date and journal information.
    9. Full - provides complete information, including multiple subject headings and added authors.

      25 records will display per screen. The Navigation arrows appear when you have more than 25 results in your result set. "<" and ">" take you to the previous or next page respectively. The "|<" arrow takes you to the first 25 records. Only for result sets of less than 250 will the ">|" display, and will take you to the last page of records.

      Click to get location information for the article.

      Sorting Your Results
      Result sets of 250 or fewer records are sorted by year (most recent first) and by author and title within a year. You can re-sort a result set by clicking on Author, Title, or Year at the top of the list. Click Preferences (on the blue bar at the top of the screen) to change the default sort order.

      Narrowing Your Results
      You may reduce the size of a search result in three ways:
      1. Click Limit from a result of 10,000 records or fewer to limit results by Date, Form, Source, or Other (notes).
      2. Click Refine from a result of more than 100 records to add one or two more search terms.
      3. Click Previous Searches (if you have any) at the top of most screens, to combine two or more result sets.
      For Limit and Refine, note that you must first have a set of records (a List, Brief, or Full display).

      Printing or E-mailing Results
      You should be able to print any screen directly using browser functions. You may also e-mail or print selected sets of records. Click Preferences to set your preferred e-mail or print format, default will be current display.
      1. Select up to 50 records, on one or more screens. If you do not check any records before clicking Email or Print, HST will assume all records on the current screen.
      2. When you click Print, formatted records will appear in a new window. You may then use your browser to print or download the records.
      Saving Records and Viewing Saved Records
      Save records to combine records from more than one result. You can also store sets of saved records across HST sessions and make them available to other users. You do not need to save records in order to e-mail or print them. Saved will only display records from the database you are currently using.
      1. To save a record, click Saveon the brief or full display (next to UC-eLinks). Save up to 250 records in one set
      2. To view saved records, click Savedin the blue bar at the top of any screen. Saved records will appear as a result set.
      3. To remove a record from the saved records, click UnSave (replaces Save) on the Full display.
      4. Print or e-mail saved records as you would records in any result set.
      Saving Records across Sessions

      1. Click Saved
      2. Click Name this set. (If you click Saved and have not yet saved any records, you will see a "View" link.)
      3. Enter a password and name for the saved set
      4. Click Create.
      Remember your password; it is the only way to retrieve the set.

      To view a saved set, click View, then enter the password in the popup window and click Search. If saved sets are available, you will see a list of sets to choose from. Anyone with access to this database may view a saved set if you give them the password.
    Last modified: 10/18/2013 11:35 AM by R. Neugebauer

    General Campus Information

    University of California, Riverside
    900 University Ave.
    Riverside, CA 92521
    Tel: (951) 827-1012
    UCR Career Opportunities
    Library Job Opportunities

    UCR Libraries Information

    Directions / Mailing Addresses
    Tomás Rivera Library: (951) 827-3220
    Orbach Science Library: (951) 827-3701
    Music Library: (951) 827- 3137
    Multimedia Library: (951) 827-5606
    UCR Libraries Visitor Guide

    Related Links

    Footer

    UCR Libraries Facebook UCR Libraries Twitter UCR Libraries YouTube UCR Libraries News UCR Libraries Mobile Website