Breadcrumbs

English 1B - Nickel & Dimed

English 1B - Nickel & Dimed

Introduction to UCR Library Home Page (http://library.ucr.edu/)

Off Campus Access to Databases

You can access Library resources from off campus through one of the campus remote access servers. Click the "Connect from Home" link on the Library Home Page for more information.

Initial Steps

Define the problem:
Use the argument that you are working on for this course as your topic for this library workshop. Write your topic in the space below. Then note key concepts that you will use to locate information on your topic. Finally think of synonyms and related terms that help describe the argument.

Your topic:




 
Synonyms for your topic:
Now think of synonyms and related terms that help describe the main concepts of your topic. There might be one, two, or more concepts. Use as many columns as you need.

Example: Concept 1 Concept 2
working poor _____ __________________ __________________
 
Synonyms/related terms:   Synonyms/related terms:   Synonyms/related terms:  
low wage workers __ __________________ __________________
poor _____________ __________________ __________________
marginal employment __ __________________ __________________
__________________ __________________ __________________

Background Information

Encyclopedias and other reference resources are often a good place to start research.  The articles provide an overview of a topic and may include a bibliography of material for further research. Note additional useful terms on your synonym lists above. Sample resources include:

CQ Researcher (Print (H35 E352) - Rivera Ref, "Controversial Topics" section
  Online - Library Home Page => Databases by Subject => General/Multidisciplinary => CQ Researcher)
An issue or trend is covered in each issue featuring multiple viewpoints and a bibliography.

Encyclopedia of Sociology: (Rivera Ref HM425 .E5 2000)
Five volume set covering a wide range of topics. Entries include definitions, discussion and a bibliography.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: (Rivera Ref - "Controversial Topics" bookshelves)
This series, produced by Greenhaven Press, explores controversial topics from many viewpoints. Individual titles in the series can be found by selecting title in Scotty the UCR Library Catalog (http://scotty.ucr.edu) and typing "opposing viewpoints."

Contemporary World Issues series: (Rivera Ref - "Controversial Topics" bookshelves)
This series gives analysis of contemporary topics. Each volume includes historical background and current developments on the topic. The individual titles in the series can be found by selecting title in Scotty, the UCR Library Catalog (http://scotty.ucr.edu/) and typing "contemporary world issues".

Government Internet Resources

INFOMINE: (http://infomine.ucr.edu/)
Scholarly Internet resources.  After submitting a search, click the [Terms leading to related resources] link to further develop your search.

Finding Books & and Journals: Scotty

Encyclopedias and books contain references to additional materials on your subject. These items may be other books or journal articles. To see if UCR owns them, look them up in Scotty by the book or journal title (http://scotty.ucr.edu/), UCR's online catalog. A link to Scotty is available on the UCR Library Home Page http://library.ucr.edu/.

How to find a call number (http://library.ucr.edu/?view=help/guides/callnumbers.html)

Finding articles

The Library provides access to many databases that will enable you to identify articles on your topic. One of the most popular databases is Academic Search Complete. It includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines in all subject areas. 

From the UCR Library Web Site select Databases by Subject below the Articles heading. Next, select the General/Multidisciplinary link. Finally click Academic Search Complete.

  1. Search Academic Search Complete for an article on your topic. From your search, find one appropriate article for your topic.
    • What kind of record is it (full text, citation, etc.)
    • Write down the author, article title, journal/magazine title, volume number, date, and pages.
    • Is the full text of the article available?
    • Why did you choose this article?

     

  2. Click the UC-eLinks icon.
    • Can you retrieve a copy of the paper online?
    • Does UCR own a paper copy of the journal?

     

  3. How do you email yourself a copy of the article's text?

     

  4. From the search find one article you don't consider appropriate. Write the title and explain why you would not choose this item.

     

  5. Why would you use Academic Search Complete in your research?

     

Finding newspaper articles

Another popular database is Academic via LexisNexis. It provides full text access to newspaper and magazine articles, broadcast transcripts, and legal information and more. (See http://library.ucr.edu/?view=help/guides/acad_univ/index.html for help).

From the UCR Library Web Site select Databases by Subject below the Articles heading. Next, select the General/Multidisciplinary link. Finally click Academic.

  1. Search Academic for a news article on your topic. From your search, find one appropriate article for the topic.
    • Write down the author, article title, newspaper title, volume number, date, and pages.
    • Why did you choose this article?

     

  2. How do you email yourself a copy of the article's text?

     

  3. From the search find one article that you don't consider appropriate. Write the title and explain why you would not choose this item.

     

  4. Why would you use Academic in your research?

     

Citing Your Sources

Researchers use standard citation formats to identify books, articles, etc., consulted and to give credit to their authors. Consistency is crucial. As a university student, you are expected to follow the same guidelines. Always consult your instructor for the format used in your class. See http://library.ucr.edu/?view=help/citing.html for help with the most common formats.

For Further Consultation...

Contact the Rivera Reference Department. Stop by at the reference desk or see http://library.ucr.edu/?view=services/reference

Last modified: 7/2/2008 12:56 PM by M. Yonezawa

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012
UCR Career Opportunities
Library Job Opportunities

UCR Libraries Information

Directions / Mailing Addresses
Tomás Rivera Library: (951) 827-3220
Orbach Science Library: (951) 827-3701
Music Library: (951) 827- 3137
Multimedia Library: (951) 827-5606
UCR Libraries Visitor Guide

Related Links

Footer

UCR Libraries Facebook UCR Libraries Twitter UCR Libraries YouTube UCR Libraries News UCR Libraries Mobile Website