Breadcrumbs

English 1B

English 1B

 

Scotty
SCOTTY:
Find books AND periodical titles and whether they're checked out.
Keyword: gay marriage*
Subject: same sex marriage (No hits? Try "Search as Words")
Title: What is marriage for?
 
See http://scotty.ucr.edu/screens/scottyhelp.html for more tips.  
Background Information - Sample Resources
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics: (Rivera Ref - BJ63 E53 1998)
Four volume set covering a wide range of topics. Gives historical background of, and the philosophical arguments for and against, positions on various issues.

Encyclopedia of Bioethics: (Rivera Ref - QH332 .E52 1995)
Covers medical topics, such as abortion and euthanasia, from an ethical perspective. Has an annual supplement, Bibliography of Bioethics (Ref Z6675 E8B5).

Sample Resources Containing Multiple Viewpoints 

CQ Researcher: (Rivera Ref - "Controversial Topics" bookshelves (H35 E352) - print and online)
An issue or trend is covered in each issue featuring multiple viewpoints and a bibliography.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context : (Rivera Ref - "Controversial Topics" bookshelves)
This series of books, produced by Greenhaven Press, explores controversial topics from many viewpoints. Individual titles in the series can be found by selecting title in SCOTTY the UCR Library Catalog and typing "opposing viewpoints."

Taking Sides series:
(Rivera Ref - "Controversial Topics" bookshelves) A series containing clashing views on controversial issues. Each volume contains a background introduction of the issue, a postscript, summary of the essays, and well developed essays on each side of a controversial issue. The individual titles in the series can be found by selecting title in SCOTTY the Library Catalog and typing "taking sides."

Contemporary World Issues series:
(Rivera Ref - "Controversial Topics" bookshelves)
This series gives analysis of contemporary topics. Each volume includes historical background and current developments on the topic. The individual titles in the series can be found by selecting title in SCOTTY the UCR Library Catalog and typing in "contemporary world issues."

Databases
Academic Search Complete:
Citations to scholarly and general-interest articles, many with full text, on a wide range of subjects. Coverage begins in 1980.
Keyword(s): violence media

Retrieve fewer articles:
Apply limits: Articles with text, Refereed publications, Date, etc.
Modify Search: add more keywords - violence media AND children, Editorial, etc.
Subject: Use their subject terminology - Violence in Mass Media
Retrieve more articles:
Use synonyms: violence OR aggression
Wildcards: violen* (retrieves violent, violence, etc.)
 
ACADEMIC via LexisNexis
Access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.  Contains citations, abstracts, and many full-text articles. Coverage of sources varies. 

Keyword(s): animal rights

Retrieve fewer articles:
Specify dates
Modify Search: add more keywords (experimentation); use phrases enclosed in double-quote marks ("animal rights")

Retrieve more articles:

Use synonyms: violence OR aggression
Wildcards: violen! (retrieves violent, violence, etc.)
See http://library.ucr.edu/?view=help/guides/acad_univ/index.html for more tips.
Off Campus Access

You can access these resources from off-campus. Visit (http://library.ucr.edu/?view=help/remoteaccess.html) for more information and instructions. Remote access is a service provide by the Campus Office of Computing & Communications (C&C)

Citation Help

For help with citing a reference you used in your paper see http://library.ucr.edu/?view=help/citing.html.

More information
INFOMINE: http://infomine.ucr.edu/
A virtual library of scholarly Internet resources.  After submitting a search, click the [Terms leading to related resources] link to further develop your search.
Find by Databases by Subject: (http://library.ucr.edu/find/findsubject.html)
Discover databases specifically focused on your area.

UCR Library Reference Services:Contact UCR Library Reference Services (http://library.ucr.edu/?view=services/reference) for further assistance.

Last modified: 6/24/2011 4:58 PM by M. Yonezawa

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012
UCR Career Opportunities
Library Job Opportunities

UCR Libraries Information

Directions / Mailing Addresses
Tomás Rivera Library: (951) 827-3220
Orbach Science Library: (951) 827-3701
Music Library: (951) 827- 3137
Multimedia Library: (951) 827-5606
UCR Libraries Visitor Guide

Related Links

Footer

UCR Libraries Facebook UCR Libraries Twitter UCR Libraries YouTube UCR Libraries News UCR Libraries Mobile Website