Breadcrumbs

English 1A - Research Basics

English 1A - Research Basics

Introduction to UCR Libraries (http://library.ucr.edu/?view=libraries)
How to read a call number (http://library.ucr.edu/?view=help/guides/callnumbers.html)
How to REQUEST materials from other libraries (http://library.ucr.edu/?view=services/ill)
How to cite your sources (http://library.ucr.edu/?view=help/citing.html)
How to avoid plagiarism (http://library.ucr.edu/?view=help/plagiarism.html)

Background Information - Sample Resources
New Encyclopaedia Britannica: (Rivera Ref - AE5 .E5 15th ed. 2002)
32 volumes. : illustrations. (some color), maps (some color) ; Includes bibliographical references. v. 1-12. Micropaedia : Ready reference -- v. 13-29. Macropaedia : Knowledge in depth -- v. [30] Propaedia : Outline of knowledge -- v. [31] Index, A-K -- v. [32] Index, L-Z.

Encyclopedia of Social Issues: (Rivera Ref - "Controversial Topics" bookshelves - HN57 .E59 1997)
6 volume set covering wide variety of current concerns. Check the index for complete access.

Encyclopedia of [ Whatever ]: (Mostly in Rivera Reference but do not ignore the rest of the collection)
 
  1. Search SCOTTY the UCR Library Catalog for either "encyclopedias" or "dictionaries" as SUBJECTS. 
  2. LIMIT/SORT Results by:
    - YEAR of publication;
    - MATERIAL type (e.g., Book);
    - LANGUAGE (e.g., English);
    - WHERE Item is located (e.g., Rivera Reference); 
    - Publisher, Words in the Title, Words in the Author or Words in the Subject (e.g., War);
    - SORT results by year.
    Resources Containing Multiple Viewpoints
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: (Rivera Ref - "Controversial Topics" bookshelves)
    This series of books, produced by Greenhaven Press, explores controversial topics from many viewpoints. Individual titles in the series can be found by selecting title in SCOTTY the UCR Library Catalog and typing "opposing viewpoints."

    Taking Sides series: (Rivera Ref - "Controversial Topics" bookshelves)
    A series containing clashing views on controversial issues. Each volume contains a background introduction of the issue, a postscript, summary of the essays, and well developed essays on each side of a controversial issue. The individual titles in the series can be found by selecting title in SCOTTY the Library Catalog and typing "taking sides."

    Contemporary World Issues series: (Rivera Ref - "Controversial Topics" bookshelves)
    This series gives analysis of contemporary topics. Each volume includes historical background and current developments on the topic. The individual titles in the series can be found by selecting title in SCOTTY the UCR Library Catalog and typing in "contemporary world issues."

    CQ Researcher: (Rivera Ref - "Controversial Topics" bookshelves (H35 E352) - print and online)
    An issue or trend is covered in each issue featuring multiple viewpoints and a bibliography.

    Databases
    SCOTTY for UCR Libraries materials
    Find books AND periodical titles and whether they?re checked out.
    Keyword: gay marriage*
    Subject: same sex marriage (No hits? Try "Search as Words")
    Title: What is marriage for?

    Limit/Sort: by year, material type, language, etc...
    See http://scotty.ucr.edu/screens/scottyhelp.html for more tips.

    See also the MELVYL Catalog for ALL UC Libraries

    Academic Search Complete:
    Citations to scholarly and general-interest articles, many with full text, on a wide range of subjects. .

    Keyword(s): violence media

    Retrieve fewer articles:
    Apply limits: Articles with text, refereed publications, date, etc.
    Modify Search: add more keywords - violence media AND children, Editorial, etc.
    Subject: Use their subject terminology - Violence in Mass Media

    Retrieve more articles:
    Use synonyms: violence OR aggression
    Wildcards: violen* (retrieves violent, violence, etc.)

     
    ACADEMIC via LexisNexis
    Access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Contains citations, abstracts, and many full-text articles. Coverage of sources varies.

    Keyword(s): animal rights

    Retrieve fewer articles:
    Specify dates
    Modify Search: add more keywords (experimentation); use phrases enclosed in double-quote marks ("animal rights")

    Retrieve more articles:

    Use synonyms: violence OR aggression
    Wildcards: violen! (retrieves violent, violence, etc.)

    See http://library.ucr.edu/?view=help/guides/acad_univ/index.html for more tips.
    Off Campus Access / Connect from Home

    You can access these resources from off-campus through one of the campus remote access servers. Visit (http://library.ucr.edu/?view=help/remoteaccess.html) for more information and instructions.

    More information
    INFOMINE: (http://infomine.ucr.edu)
    A virtual library of scholarly Internet resources. After submitting a search, click the [Terms leading to related resources] link to further develop your search.

    Find Databases by Subject: (http://library.ucr.edu/?view=find/findsubject.html)
    Discover databases specifically focused on your area.

    For Further Consultation...
    Need Help? Ask a Librarian Chat with a Librarian Ask a Librarian a question via e-mail Reference desk phone numbers

     

    Last modified: 6/24/2011 4:24 PM by M. Yonezawa

    General Campus Information

    University of California, Riverside
    900 University Ave.
    Riverside, CA 92521
    Tel: (951) 827-1012
    UCR Career Opportunities
    Library Job Opportunities

    UCR Library Information

    Directions / Mailing Addresses
    Tomás Rivera Library: (951) 827-3220
    Orbach Science Library: (951) 827-3701
    Music Library: (951) 827- 3137
    Multimedia Library: (951) 827-5606
    UCR Library Visitor Guide

    Related Links

    Footer

    UCR Libraries Facebook UCR Libraries Twitter UCR Libraries YouTube UCR Libraries News UCR Libraries Mobile Website