Breadcrumbs

History 001: Background Sources and Books

History 001: Background Sources and Books

 

Rivera Library contains many background sources on the Japanese American internment, both in the Reference and circulating collections.  Encyclopedias are often a good place to start research.  The articles provide an overview of a topic and may include a bibliography of material for further research. As you examine these sources, note any useful terms you find so you can use them later in your research.  Write down the citations to any useful references so you can follow up on them later. 

In addition to looking at the sources listed below, you can consult a Reference Librarian for other background sources, such as those in American history, World War II,  or American social history.

Japanese American Internment During World War II: a history and reference guide.  D769.8 A6 N4 2002

American Concentration Camps.  9 volumes.  D753.8 A77 1989

Japanese Americans During World War II: a selected, annotated bibliography of materials available at UCLA.  Rivera Reference Z1361 J2 I86 1997

Encyclopedia of Japanese American History.  Updated edition.  Rivera Reference E184 J3 E53 2001

Asian American Encyclopedia.  6 volumes.  Rivera Reference E184 O6 A827 1995

Atlas of Asian American History.  Rivera Reference E184 O6 A89 2002

 


What is "propaganda"?

Encyclopedia Americana.  30 volumes.  Rivera Reference AE5 E333 2001 (Ready Reference area under "Encyclopedias".)
  Look at the article on "Propaganda" in 22:656-660.

Encyclopedia Britanica.  32 volumes.  Rivera Reference AE5 E5 15th ed. 2002 (Ready Reference area under "Encyclopedias".)
  Look at the article on "Propaganda" in 26:171-179 (Macropedia).  Note the 10 questions under "components of propaganda" on p. 174.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences.  18 volumes.  Rivera Reference H41 I58
  There is a lengthy article and substantial bibliography on "Propaganda" in 12:579-589.  Note the 11 factors in propaganda on p.583.

Encyclopedia of American Studies.  4 volumes.  Rivera Reference E169.1 E625 2001
  The index volume contains various references to "propaganda".  Note that "political cartoons" is discussed in 3:350-353; mention of propaganda in "stereotypes and stereotyping" is mentioned in 4:187 (article itself begins on p.183 - what does Dr. Seuss have to do with propaganda and World War II?);  mention of World War II and propaganda in 3:442 (article on public relations pp. 441-443).

Encyclopedia of American History.  11 volumes.  Rivera Reference E174 E53 2003.
  Vol. 8 covers the period 1929-1945.  The article on propaganda is on pp.282-283.  Use the index in vol. 11 for additional references.
 

Finding Books: SCOTTY

Encyclopedias and books often contain references to additional books or periodical (also known as "journal" or "magazine") articles on your subject. Use SCOTTY, the Library’s online catalog (http://scotty.ucr.edu/)  to identify books by topic, title or author OR to identify if the Library owns particular journals. Scotty does not include articles or citations to them.   For those of you interested in seeing what our sister UC campuses hold, you can use Melvyl (http://ucr.worldcat.org/advancedsearch) .

Note that both SCOTTY and Melvyl use Library of Congress Subject Headings.   So if your search by subject is not successful, try your terms as a search for keywords.  For example:

Subject
Japanese Americans California San Jose Evacuation and Relocation 1942 1945

Keyword (or word)
San Jose's Japanese community

 

1.   Examine some of the resources brought to class. 
2.  Go through the library in-class exercise using SCOTTY.


 

Call Numbers

The UCR Libraries use the Library of Congress Call Number system.  This might look different than what you normally use in a public library.   For a refresher on using these call numbers, consult the How to Read a Call Number  page (http://library.ucr.edu/?view=help/guides/callnumbers.html). 


 

Citing Your Sources

It's always a good habit to take accurate notes on the sources you use in your research, particularly the information you will need to cite them.  Doing so can save you time later.  The Cite Your Sources page (http://library.ucr.edu/?view=help/citing.html ) is a good place to start for assistance in citing.  Always check with your instructor to see if a particular citation style is to be used for your class.

 

Last modified: 6/24/2011 4:36 PM by M. Yonezawa

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012
UCR Career Opportunities
Library Job Opportunities

UCR Library Information

Directions / Mailing Addresses
Tomás Rivera Library: (951) 827-3220
Orbach Science Library: (951) 827-3701
Music Library: (951) 827- 3137
Multimedia Library: (951) 827-5606
UCR Library Visitor Guide

Related Links

Footer

UCR Libraries Facebook UCR Libraries Twitter UCR Libraries YouTube UCR Libraries News UCR Libraries Mobile Website