Breadcrumbs

History 1 - History of Europe

History 1 - History of Europe

The "Library" Online

The Library Web site (library.ucr.edu) provides a tutorial and gateway to a wide range of services and the rich array of electronic resources (scholarly databases, e-journals, digital books, etc.).

To use our electronic resources from home, you will need to connect to one of the campus remote access servers.  Click on        Connect from Home Instructions for more information.   

Basic Research Principles 

Step 1- Define your problem:

Write your  topic in the form of a sentence (either a statement or a question).  Circle the key concepts of your topic and  be as specific as possible.  Also identify the broader subject area. 

Step 2 - Think of synonyms and try different search strategies:

For instance:  marriage in renaissance florence. Synonyms  for marriage may include:

  • courtship
  • weddings
  • dowry
  • matrimony
  • betrothal

Step 3 - Build on what you have:

Once you have found a few relevant items, check to see if there are bibliographies at the end of the article or book/book chapters that can lead you to other resources.  Bibliographies are listings of articles and books on specific subjects. 

Step 4 - Keep track of your research progress and cite your sources!

See Style Guides handout for help with the most common formats.

Find Background Sources

Encyclopedias are often a good place to start research.  The articles provide an overview of a topic and may include a bibliography of material for further research. Note additional useful terms on your synonym lists above. Relevant titles include:

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance - Ref CB361 .E52 1999 
New Century Italian Renaissance Encyclopedia - Ref DG 537.8 A1N48
The Grove Dictionary of Art. From Renaissance to Impressionism  - Ref N6370 .G76 2000 
Extraordinary Women of the Medieval and Renaissance World  - Ref HQ1143 .E93 2000 
Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Renaissance - Ref CB361 .R26 1979

Finding Books 

Using Scotty, the UCR online catalog to identify books by topic, title or author OR to identify if the Library owns particular journals:

~ Search by keyword for materials on a particular topic.  To retrieve variations of a word, use *            (example:  symbol*  will retrieve symbols, symbolic, symbolism) 

~ Refine your searches by using Subject Headings  

Examples:
Medici, House of.
Women -- Italy -- Florence -- History.
Clothing trade -- Italy -- Florence -- History -- To 1500.
Florence (Italy) -- History -- Sources.
Guilds -- Italy -- Florence -- Political activity -- History.

~ Scotty does not include articles!

Write down the title, call number, and location for each book.  Consult a library floor map for location.   For help reading call numbers, click  How to read a call number.

Finding Articles

Historical Abstracts is the database for world history.  It includes scholarly articles, books, dissertations, and collections in world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to modern times, most with abstracts and some full-text;  1954-present.

To access from Library Home page - select >> 
Databases by Subject >> History >> Historical Abstracts 

    •  allows limiting by time period (century or decade)
    •  includes book reviews 
    • can browse these fields   
    • UC-eLinks to check holdings 

Need more help?!
Librarians are here to help you. Stop by at the Reference Desk or email us at:  rivref@ucr.edu.

_________________________________Class 2____________________________________

Web Evaluation

Types of Web Pages

  • Advocacy (trying to convince you of something) 
  • Informational / Educational (trying to teach, inform)
  • News
  • Business / Marketing (trying to sell you something)
  • Personal (chat, blogs)

Criteria to Evaluate

  • Expertise of Author
  • Reliability
  • Currency
  • Accuracy
  • Bias
  • Evidence 

Websites shown in class:

www.salon.com/books/it/1999/09/13/machtest/ 
www.samizdata.net/blog/archives/005761.html 

plato.stanford.edu/entries/machiavelli/

www.emachiavelli.com/

oregonstate.edu/instruct/phl302/ philosophers/machaivelli.html
www.timoroso.com/philosophy/ machiavelli/introduction

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Machiavelli


 
Last modified: 11/7/2006 4:31 PM by by M. Yonezawa

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012
UCR Career Opportunities
Library Job Opportunities

UCR Library Information

Directions / Mailing Addresses
Tomás Rivera Library: (951) 827-3220
Orbach Science Library: (951) 827-3701
Music Library: (951) 827- 3137
Multimedia Library: (951) 827-5606
UCR Library Visitor Guide

Related Links

Footer

UCR Libraries Facebook UCR Libraries Twitter UCR Libraries YouTube UCR Libraries News UCR Libraries Mobile Website