Breadcrumbs

History of the English Language

History of the English Language

 


 


 


 


 

Print Reference Sources


Flexner, Stuart Berg. Listening to America : an illustrated history of words and phrases from our lively and
     splendid past. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1982. [Rivera Ref PE2 831 .F58 1982]

Hanks, Patrick. A Dictionary of Surnames. New York: Oxford University Press, 1988.
     [Rivera Ref  CS 2385. H27 1988] 

Ingraham, Holly. People's names : a cross-cultural reference guide to the proper use of over 40,000 personal
     and familial names in over 100 cultures. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarlan & Co., 1997.
     [Rivera Ref CS 2305. I54 1997]

MacLysaght, Edward. A guide to Irish Surnames. Dublin: Helicon Ltd., 1964. [Rivera Ref  CS 2415. M33]

Reaney, P.H. A Dictionary of English Surnames. New York: Routledge, 1991. [Rivera Ref CS 2505. R39 1991]

Smith, Elsdon C. American Surnames. Philadelphia: Chilton Book Co., 1969. [Rivera Ref CS 2485. S63]

Unbegaun, B. O. Russian Surnames. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1972. [Rivera Ref CS 2815. U53}]

Woods, Richard Donovan. Spanish Surnames in the Southwestern United States: a dictionary. Boston, G.K.
     Hall, 1978. [Rivera Ref CS 2745. W66]

Print Sources that can be checked out


Bardsley, Charles Wareing Endell. A Dictionary of English and Welsh Surnames, with special American
     instances. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1967. [Rivera CS 2505. B35]

Chambers, William. Chamber's Etymological dictionary of the English language. London: W. & R. Chambers,
     1882. [Rivera PE 1628. C38]

Flavell, Linda. The chronology of words and phrases : a thousand years in the history of English. London: Kyle
     Cathie, 1999. [Rivera PE 1571. F57]

Gillis, I.V. Japanese Surnames. Ann Arbor, MI: Lithoprinted, 1939. [Rivera CS 3000. C5]

Grummel, W.C. English Word Building from Latin and Greek. Palo Alto, CA.: Pacific Books, 1961.
     [Rivera PE 1582. L3 G7] 

Hadamitzky, Wolfgang. Japanese, Chinese, and Korean surnames and how to read them : 125,947 Japanese,
     594 Chinese, and 259 Korean surnames written with Kanji as they appear in Japanese texts.
 Manchen:
     Saur, 1998.
[Rivera PL 683. H33 1998]

Hook, J.N. Family Names: How Our Surnames came to America. New York: Macmillan, 1982.
     [Rivera CS 2487. H66 1982]

Lasker, Gabriel Ward. Surnames and Genetic Structure. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1985.
     [Rivera GN 289. L37 1985]  

L'Estrange Ewen, C. A guide to the origin of British surnames. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1969.
     [Rivera CS 2505. E82]

MacLysaght, Edward. The surnames of Ireland. New York: Barnes & Noble, 1969. [Rivera CS 2415. M332]  

Mencken, H.L. The American Language: An Inquiry into the Development of English in the United States.
     New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1931. [Rivera PF 2808 .M4 1923]

O'Farrell, Padraic. Irish Surnames. Dublin: Gill & MacMillan, 2002. [Rivera CS 2415. 036 2002]

Platt, Lyman D. Hispanic surnames and family history. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Pub. Co:1996.
     [Rivera CS 2745. P55 1996] 

Reaney, Percy H. A Dictionary of British Surnames. London: Routledge and Paul, 1958.
     [Rivera  CS 2385. R4] 

Sapir, Edward. Language, an Introduction to the Study of Speech. New York: Harcourt, Brace & World, 1949.
     [Rivera P 105. S3 1949]

To Find books in SCOTTY:

  1. Start at the library's homepage at http://library.ucr.edu.
  2. Click on SCOTTY Catalog on the left hand side of the page
  3. You can do a keyword search for a specific topic, or a subject search for a more general topic.

Keywords you could use to search

Subjects you could search for

  • surnames
  • Spanish Surnames
  • history surnames
  • personal names
  • Etymology
  • English Language
  • English language etymology
  • Onomastics
  • Linguistics


Databases


LION: Literature Online. Articles about English and American literature, plus full-text plays, fiction, and poetry. Includes the Concise Oxford Dictionary to find the etymology of a word.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED). The Oxford English Dictionary is a historical dictionary of English.


To search the databases:


  1. Start at the library's homepage at http://library.ucr.edu.
  2. Click on Databases by Subject
  3. Click on Literature
  4. Choose a database

The databases can be searched from HOME by using one of the campus remote access servers. For more information on remote access go to http://library.ucr.edu/?view=help/remoteaccess.html.

 

Web Sites


Ancestry.com. 1998-2003. <http://www.ancestry.com>.

Genealogy Forum. 1999-2002. Surname Center. <http://www.genealogyforum.rootsweb.com/gfaol/surnames>.

Malowney, Georgeann. 1996-2002. Irish Genealogy. <http://www.irishgenealogy.com>.

Mencken, H.L. The American Language: An Inquiry into the Development of English in the United States. <http://www.bartleby.com/185>.

Sapir, Edward. Language, an Introduction to the Study of Speech. <http://www.bartleby.com/186>.

Surname Resources by Roots Web. 1998-2001. <http://resources.rootsweb.com/surnames>.

U.S. National Archives & Records Administration. 2 July 2003. Genealogy.                                                   <http://www.archives.gov/research_room/genealogy>.


 


top


 



Last modified: 11/7/2006 4:40 PM by by M. Yonezawa

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012
UCR Career Opportunities
Library Job Opportunities

UCR Libraries Information

Directions / Mailing Addresses
Tomás Rivera Library: (951) 827-3220
Orbach Science Library: (951) 827-3701
Music Library: (951) 827- 3137
Multimedia Library: (951) 827-5606
UCR Libraries Visitor Guide

Related Links

Footer

UCR Libraries Facebook UCR Libraries Twitter UCR Libraries YouTube UCR Libraries News UCR Libraries Mobile Website