UCR      Library

Breadcrumbs


http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Pilgrim_Armour.jpg


AHS 272 - Tour Guide in the Middle Ages


Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Print:

Dictionary of the Middle Ages - Joseph R. Strayer, editor in chief
Call Number: Call Number: Rivera Ref        D114 .D5 1982

Dictionary of subjects and symbols in art / James Hall
Call Number: Rivera Ref N7740 .H3 2008

Dictionnaire d'archéologie chrétienne et de liturgie, publié par le r. p. dom Fernand Cabrol ... avec le concours d'un grand nombre de collaborateurs.
Call Number: Rivera Ref  BR95 .D53

*** Encyclopedia of comparative iconography : themes depicted in works of art / editor, H. Roberts.
Call Number: Rivera Ref  N7560 .E53 1998  v.1-2

*** Ikonographie der christlichen Kunst / Gertrud Schiller 5v. [the standard reference guide].
Call Number: Rivera  N7830 .S35

*** Iconography of Christian Art / Gertrud Schiller 2v. (New York 1969) [a translation of only the first part of the German edition].
Call Number: Rivera  N7830 .S3513  v.1-2

*** Lexikon der christlichen Ikonographie / Englebert Kirschbaum 8v. Dictionary of Christian iconography and the saints.
Call Number: Rivera Ref  BV150 .L4

The lives of the fathers, martyrs, and other principal saints / Alban Butler
Rivera  BX4654 .B87 1956  v.1-3 of 4

Saints in Art/ Rosa Giorgi
Call Number: Rivera  ND1430 .G5513 2003 

Online:

Encyclopedia of medieval philosophy  / edited by Henrik Lagerlund

*** Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Dictionary of Art) via Oxford University Press


Indexes and Databases

Print:

Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie. European and American art and architecture.
Call Number: Rivera Ref  Z5937 .R46.

Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art : RILA = International repertory of the literature of art.
Call Number: Rivera Ref Z5937 .R15  (Years published1975-1989)


Online:

Art Full Text - "Indexes, abstracts and full-text from international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Areas covered include archaeology, architecture, art, film, humanities, marketing, motion pictures and photography. Inclusive coverage: 1984 to present."

***ATLA Religion Database- "The ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. Featuring articles written in 36 languages, ATLA includes over 400,000 article citations from over 1,400 journals, 600 of which are currently indexed. It also provides bibliographic coverage of over 200,000 essay citations from 15,500 multi-author works, over 375,000 book reviews, and features 128,000 subject-headings. Database coverage: 1949 to present"

***Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals- "Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Coverage is from 1934 to the present."

*** BHA - "In 1982, Getty began to support RILA, and in 1990 the Getty began to collaborate with INIST-CNRS to produce the BHA, which was a merger of RILA and the Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie.The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site at http://library.getty.edu/bha.These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA)."

*** ITER - "...bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues)."

Dissertations & Theses

*** Worldcat (Best for books & archival materials) Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries, currently more than 179 million records.



Digitized Primary Sources

Acta Sanctorum- "It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940."

Bodleian Library, University of Oxford Western manuscripts to c. 1500 Guide for pre-c. 1500 western manuscripts, which form one part of the Department of Special Collections and Western Manuscripts at the Bodleian Library.

British Library, Turning the Pages View BL Treasures using virtual technology that allows you to turn the pages of these masterpieces.

Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts (UCLA) "The Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts offers a simple and straightforward means to discover medieval manuscripts available on the web. Very much a work in progress, the database will initially provide links to hundreds of manuscripts, which we expect quickly to grow to thousands. Basic information about the manuscripts is fully searchable, and users can also browse through the complete contents of the database."

Digital Scriptorium "The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research."

Getty Research Portal "The Getty Research Portal™ is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields. The Portal is free to all users."

Internet Medieval Sourcebook

Online Medieval and Classical “The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL) is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.”

Pierpont Morgan Library Search CORSAIR, the Morgan's online collection catalog, for images and descriptions: http://corsair.themorgan.org/   http://utu.morganlibrary.org/index.cfm

Patrologia Latina via Chadwyck-Healey


Images

ARTstor via ARTstor

Wikimedia Commons 

Library Guides

Finding Aids - Papyri, Medieval & Renaissance Manuscripts at the Bodleian Library -http://libguides.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/medieval-sc

Resources for Medieval Art & Architecture  (Harvard) http://guides.hcl.harvard.edu/content.php?pid=208908&sid=1741043

Medieval and Renaissance Studies  (NYU) http://nyu.libguides.com/content.php?pid=35839&sid=263520

*** Works discussed in Library Instruction session.

Last modified: 1/14/2013 12:30 PM by K. Ivy

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012
UCR Career Opportunities
Library Job Opportunities

UCR Library Information

Directions / Mailing Addresses
Tomás Rivera Library: (951) 827-3220
Orbach Science Library: (951) 827-3701
Music Library: (951) 827- 3137
Multimedia Library: (951) 827-5606
UCR Library Visitor Guide

Related Links

Footer

UCR Libraries Facebook UCR Libraries Twitter UCR Libraries YouTube UCR Libraries News UCR Libraries Mobile Website