Breadcrumbs

Subject Guide: Chemistry

Subject Guide: Chemistry

Databases:

  • Web of Science: Covers all Science disciplines and includes citation searching.(1900-present)
  • SciFinder Scholar: Chemical Abstracts and Structure searching (1907-present). Register for and access the Web version from this site. Check out the introductory tutorial on Substance Searching and setting up alerts.
  • Reaxys (former platform CrossFire): Beilstein and Gmelin Substances indexed 1772-present. Elsevier Chemistry Patent database is also included.  Searchable by structure, reactions, text, and property values. Introductory webinar on Chemistry Research is available here.
  • Science of Synthesis - contains over 146,000 product-specific experimental procedures, 580,000 structures, and 700,000 references for the synthetic chemist. It is full-text, structure and reaction searchable. Workshop Examples and Tutorial available
  • Cambridge Structural Database (Web version) - Contains crystallographic data on organic, organometallic, and metal complex structures. Option to Web version: Database is downloadable from this site: http://software.chem.ucla.edu/CSD/. The DVDs are also available for borrowing through J. Mason (contact info below).
  • ICSD: Inorganic Crystal Structure Database - a searchable database of more than 93,000 inorganic structures, including pure elements, minerals, metals, and intermetallic compounds.
  • ChemIDPlus - Structure database and chemical dictionary
  • Toxnet - Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
  • CASSI - The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907.

E-Journal/E-Book Selected Collections:

Subject Specialist

  • Julie MasonJulie MasonChemistry Librarian, Science Library
    Email: julie.mason@ucr.edu or sciref@ucr.edu
    Currently serving a 1-year Fellowship at the USPTO from
    Oct. 2013 -Sept. 2014
    For immediate assistance contact: 951-827-3316

Quick Links

Online Reference Shelf

Book 1 Book 2

Print Resources (Guides)

Last modified: 10/11/2013 12:48 PM by J. Mason

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012
UCR Career Opportunities
Library Job Opportunities

UCR Libraries Information

Directions / Mailing Addresses
Tomás Rivera Library: (951) 827-3220
Orbach Science Library: (951) 827-3701
Music Library: (951) 827- 3137
Multimedia Library: (951) 827-5606
UCR Libraries Visitor Guide

Related Links

Footer

UCR Libraries Facebook UCR Libraries Twitter UCR Libraries YouTube UCR Libraries News UCR Libraries Mobile Website