Breadcrumbs

Subject Guide: Bioengineering - Articles & Databases

Subject Guide: Bioengineering - Articles & Databases

Biology - Articles and Databases

Bioengineering is so inter-disciplinary!  Science, medical, and/or engineering databases may need to be consulted.  These five are excellent choices for bioengineering:

Web of Science

Excellent coverage of biology and other sciences.   Also excellent for tracking cited and citing articles.

Coverage:

    • peer-reviewd journals, meetings, conference proceedings, books, and other literature
    • sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities
    • from 1900 to present

Web of Science Training - Search techniques in video tutorials from Thomson Reuters, the company that produces Web of Science.

Compendex

General engineering.

Coverage:

    • peer-reviewd journals and conference proceedings
    • scientific and technical engineering research
    • from 1884 to present

Guide/Video Guide - Search tips for Compendex.

PubMed@UCR

Coverage:

    • biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books
    • includes the fields of biomedicine and health covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering

PubMed Quick Start - FAQ-style instructions on searching with links to video demonstrations.

IEEE Xplore

Coverage:

    • IEEE content and its publishing partners
    • includes: IEEE Reviews in Biomedical Engineering, IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engieering, and Computational Biology and Bioinformatics

Inspec

Coverage:

    • physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engieering, mechanical engineering, production & manufacturing engieering, and information technology
    • includes: Biomedical Engineering and Computational Biology and Applied Bioinformatics

Click here for a list of more Biological Sciences Article Databases.

Click here for a list of more Engineering Article Databases.

 

Google Scholar

  • Google Scholar is a useful search engine, especially if you're not sure which database to choose.  It will return lots of scholarly articles and books, so narrow your search as much as possible. If you are connected through UCR (either on campus or connected from off-campus), UC-elinks will appear to the right of the items accessible by UCR.

 

Need Further Research Assistance?

Can't find what you're looking for? Contact your bioengineering librarian, Trish Stumpf Garcia.

 

More Tips:

  • For more information on citing your sources and citation styles see: Cite Your Sources.
  • Most databases will let you create an account.  Then you can save your searches and articles and even set up alerts.
  • Citation Management software lets you organize citations from your research.  EndNote, EndNote Web, and Zotero are examples.  UCR Libraries give workshops on using these products.  (See also this Tip of the Week.)  Most databases will let you export the citation to your citation management software with just a few clicks!

Subject Guide: Bioengineering

Class Guides

  • None at this time... suggestions?

Quick Links

Related Subject Guides

Questions? Suggestions?

Contact your bioengineering subject specialist, Trish Stumpf Garcia, at: trish.garcia@ucr.edu

Last modified: 4/30/2014 10:00 AM by T. Garcia

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012
UCR Career Opportunities
Library Job Opportunities

UCR Libraries Information

Directions / Mailing Addresses
Tomás Rivera Library: (951) 827-3220
Orbach Science Library: (951) 827-3701
Music Library: (951) 827- 3137
Multimedia Library: (951) 827-5606
UCR Libraries Visitor Guide

Related Links

Footer

UCR Libraries Facebook UCR Libraries Twitter UCR Libraries YouTube UCR Libraries News UCR Libraries Mobile Website