Breadcrumbs

Ethnic Studies 005: Introduction to Asian American Studies

Ethnic Studies 005: Introduction to Asian American Studies

Background Resources
Specialized handbooks, encyclopedias, and dictionaries can provide quick assistance.  Look at items near these call numbers for other potential titles.  Riv Ref = Reference section of Rivera Library (1st floor). 

Most of the topics recommended for your class this quarter fall into the area of history.  If your particular topic of interest covers other disciplinary areas, be sure to stop by and consult a reference librarian for other possible resourcesRemember, one of the strengths and beauty of Ethnic Studies is its multidisciplinary nature.

Guides to the literature:
* The Columbia Guide to Asian American History.  Riv Ref E184 O6 C64 2001

Encyclopedias:
* The Asian American Encyclopedia.  6 v.  Riv Ref E184 O6 A827 1995
* Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today.  2 v.  Riv Ref E184 A75 E53 2010
* Encyclopedia of Japanese American History: an A-to-Z reference from 1868 to the present.  Riv Ref E184 J3 E53 2001

 Other resources:
* The Chinese Americans.  Riv Ref E184 C5 T63 2003
* The Filipino Americans From 1763 to the Present: their history, culture, and traditions.  Riv Ref E184 F4 B38 1998
The Korean Americans.  Riv Ref E184 K6 H875 1998
* The South Asian Americans.  Riv Ref E184 S69 L36 1997
* The Taiwanese Americans.  Riv Ref E184 T35 N45 1998
* The Vietnamese Americans.  Riv Ref E184 V53 D6 1999
Consider looking at titles from the series The New Americans (LFB Scholarly Publishing LLC) to locate other titles in SCOTTY at UCR about Asian and Pacific Islander Americans.

Books
Use SCOTTY to find materials in the UCR Libraries, such as books and periodical titles, and to see if they are checked out.  Search by keyword, subject, title, or author.  You can also limit your search by year, material type. language, location, year of publication, etc.

For additional tips on using SCOTTY, click here.

Look for books with bibliographies and references to extend your research further.  Often you can find this information within the full record of the catalog entry.  Sometimes an entire work is a bibliography.  For example, under the heading "Japanese Americans - - Evacuation and relocation, 1942-1945 - - Bibliography," is the title Japanese American Internment during World War II: a history and reference guide.  Another point to consider is that a SCOTTY search can turn up a relevant chapter in a book without the need to utilize the entire book.  Be sure to go over the footnotes, references, or bibliography of each resource in your hunt for relevant materials.

Articles

Newspapers
At the UCR Libraries, newspapers will be found in paper (recent), microfilm, and electronic formats.  Most of the electronic newspaper indexes we carry will also offer electronic full-text of the newspaper articles.  Not all newspapers are available electronically, nor are all of them indexed.  To see what newspaper index databases UCR carries, go to the Libraries Home Page, click on "Databases by Subject", and select the category of "Newspapers".  For example
* Academic via Lexis Nexis
* Access World News
* Historical Newspapers Online (4 titles)
* Los Angeles Times
* New York Times
* Wall Street Journal
* London Times Digital Archive
* The electronic resource Ethnic Newswatch provides full text access to newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.

Note that newspaper articles are considered primary sources, whereas magazine and journal article and books are considered secondary sources (unless they are interviews, reports of eyewitness accounts, autobiographies, or diaries, etc.).

Journals and Magazines
Magazine and journal articles may be available in several formats:  electronic, print, and less commonly, in microformat (e.g., microfilm or microfiche).  Once you have your citations, to find the print versions of your articles, see the "Locate Materials (UCR)" section below.  Electronic versions of articles might be available via a link in SCOTTY, a direct link from the various article index databases, or through the UC-eLinks button appearing next to the citation in an article index database.

If you know the name of a resource you wish to use, you can go to the "Databases A-Z" list from the Libraries' website. Or, you can go to "Databases by Subject" and select the categories listed there, such as "Ethnic Studies", "Anthropology", "History", "Film & Media Studies", "Education & Library Science", "Psychology & Sociology", and "Women & Gender Studies".  You can also consult with a Reference Librarian for suggestions.  For example, some of the resulting titles you will find can include:
* Academic Search Complete
* America: History and Life
* Communication and Mass Media Complete
* Contemporary Women's Issues
* Ethnic Newswatch
* GenderWatch
* Historical Abstracts
* PsychINFO-Psychological Abstracts
* Social Science Citation Index
* Sociological Abstracts
* Women's Studies International

Remote Access

Scotty and Melvyl are freely accessible from home.

To utilize the Libraries' subscription databases, see Connect from Home.


Primary Sources
The library website has a page on finding primary sources Humanities and Social Sciences.  Be sure you utilize the interactive tutorial which can be found as a link from the Finding Primary Sources in the Humanities and Social Sciences page.  Especially helpful are the pages in the section finding and the page on help.

Primary source materials are also available in our Map Collection (ground level, Science Library), Government Publications (1st floor, Rivera Library), and Special Collections (4th floor, Rivera Library).  You can obtain assistance from helpful resource people in each of these departments.  (For assistance with Government Publications, start with the Rivera Library Reference Desk, 1st floor.  Government publication materials are also located at the Orbach Science Library.)

Consider the electronic image, sound, and text resources available to you that are listed on our various pages under "Databases by Subject", e.g., "Images, Photographs and Maps", "Literature & Language", "Music & the Arts", and the "Online Texts" portion of "History" and "Women's & Gender Studies."

Document Your Sources

A word about plagiarism, and another page.
Citing your work.


Get Help

For information on the different ways you can get help, click here.

Check the "Evaluate what you find" section here.


 JL 1/24/11

 

 

Last modified: 6/27/2011 9:23 AM by M. Yonezawa

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012
UCR Career Opportunities
Library Job Opportunities

UCR Libraries Information

Directions / Mailing Addresses
Tomás Rivera Library: (951) 827-3220
Orbach Science Library: (951) 827-3701
Music Library: (951) 827- 3137
Multimedia Library: (951) 827-5606
UCR Libraries Visitor Guide

Related Links

Footer

UCR Libraries Facebook UCR Libraries Twitter UCR Libraries YouTube UCR Libraries News UCR Libraries Mobile Website