Breadcrumbs

History 191R: The American West

History 191R: The American West

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

BOOKS

  • Scotty ~ Materials (books, periodicals, videos) owned at UCR.
  • Melvyl ~ Materials owned at all of the 10 UC campuses.
  • WorldCat ~ Materials owned at libraries worldwide. (This is a database available at the bottom of the 'Database A-Z list)

ARTICLES

History Databases

  • Start at the library's homepage at http://library.ucr.edu
  • Click on 'Databases by Subject'
  • Click on 'History'
    • America: History & Life
    • 19th Century Master File Index
    • Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690 - 1876)
    • U.S. Congressional Serial Set

Newspaper Databases

  • Start at the library's homepage at http://library.ucr.edu
  • Click on 'Databases by Subject'
  • Click on 'Newspapers'
    • Los Angeles Times via ProQuest (1881-1985)
    • New York Times, Historical (1851-1922)
    • Wall Street Journal via Proquest (1889-current)

Ethnic Related Databases

  • Start at the library's homepage at http://library.ucr.edu
  • Click on 'Databases by Subject'
  • Click on 'Ethnic Studies'
    • Ethnic Newswatch 

GOVERNMENT INFORMATION

Below is a brief overview of Government Publications resources in the Rivera Library.  Although it focuses on publications produced by the US Federal Government, documents from the State of California, local governments, courts, etc. are also available.  Check at the Government Publications Reference desk for more information.  The reference hours are Monday-Friday: 9-5.

Indexes

  • Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895 - present
    • Location: Gov Pubs Call number: 3.8:yr
      The basic index for Federal Government Documents.  (1976 to the present is available through Scotty).
  • Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications: 1900 - 1971
    • Location: Gov Pubs Call number: 3.8/2:900-971 

Congressional Sources

  • The American State Papers (1789-1838) and Serial Set (1817-present) are available both in print and electronically.
    Location: Gov Pubs Call number: Y 1.1/2

To access them electronically:

  • Start at the library's homepage at http://library.ucr.edu
  • Click on 'Databases by Subject'
  • Click on 'Government Information...'
    • American State Papers 
    • U.S. Congressional Serial Set
  • CIS US Congressional Committee Hearings Index, 1833 - 1970
    Location: Gov Pubs Ref  Call number: Z1233 .A2C52


  • CIS Index to Unpublished US Senate Committee Hearings, 1823-1968
    Location:
    Gov Pubs Ref  Call number: Z1233 .A2C53

Census

Representative Native American Publications

 

 

Last modified: 12/15/2014 7:43 PM by J. Mason

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012
UCR Career Opportunities
Library Job Opportunities

UCR Library Information

Directions / Mailing Addresses
Tomás Rivera Library: (951) 827-3220
Orbach Science Library: (951) 827-3701
Music Library: (951) 827- 3137
Multimedia Library: (951) 827-5606
UCR Library Visitor Guide

Related Links

Footer

UCR Libraries Facebook UCR Libraries Twitter UCR Libraries YouTube UCR Libraries News UCR Libraries Mobile Website