The UCR Library collects resources in anthropology supporting both coursework and research conducted by our students and faculty.  We offer subject-specific and general research educational services at the library and provide access to information from the UC Libraries System and beyond.

Conducting Research

Books & Articles

Books are useful for broad introductions or background information and research on a topic related to anthropology.  Search by topic keywords the Scotty (UCR) catalog or the Melvyl (UC) catalog

Scholarly articles are carefully evaluated and peer-reviewed by subject experts to provide reliable and credible information. Locate articles by searching in the anthropology databases. The most popular databases are listed on this page.

Specialized Resources  

Abstracts
Abstracts such as Historical Abstracts are useful for finding resources for research, providing bibliographic records from thousands of academic journals, magazines and books & monographs.

Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias available for in-library use provide broad overviews of ethnic groups worldwide, and are a good starting point for research. Check out:

Ethnographies
Ethnographies are first-hand descriptive works of a culture or ethnic group based on an anthropologist’s immersion and participation within the daily life of the people being studied. Search in the library catalogs with the keyword “ethno*” (for ethnographies, ethnography, or ethnology), or browse titles for "Case Studies in Cultural Anthropology."

Primary Sources
Databases are a great resource for finding digital primary resources. For anthropology check the eHRAF World Cultures and eHRAF Archeology databases.