The UCR Library collects music scores, CDs, DVDs, and books on musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory and composition, and other resources in music supporting both courses and research conducted by our students and faculty of the UCR Department of Music. We offer subject-specific services and general research educational services in the Music Library and provide access to information from the UC Libraries System and beyond.

The music collection is held in two campus library locations:

  • Music Library, containing scores, recordings and specialized reference books.
  • Rivera Library, containing books about all aspects of music.

Conducting Research

Books & Articles

Books, articles and reference works provide a broad introduction or background information for musical topics. Users may search by topic keywords in the Scotty (UCR) catalog or the Melvyl (UC) catalog.

Scholarly articles are carefully evaluated (peer-reviewed) by subject experts to provide reliable and credible information. Locate music articles by searching in the music discipline databases.

Specialized Resources

Music Scores and Recordings
Music recordings in various formats, and equipment to use them, are available in the Music Library. Scores are available for checkout and can be found in the Scotty (UCR) catalog. Many scores and performances can also be accessed online.

Dissertations
Databases such as Proquest Digital Dissertations and WorldCat Dissertations and Theses are useful for finding dissertations and theses related to music and musicology studies. Also check out the UCR music dissertations to see what has been written by graduates of the UCR  program, using the Scotty catalog and search keywords: "UCR -- Music. local."

Indexes
Music and musicology researchers often use indexes and abstracts for pursuing research.  To keep abreast of current musical trends and topics, see Music IndexIIMP (International Index to Music Periodicals), RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (1800-1950), and others.

Archives
Music archives found in the UCR Library notable collections include the Oswald Jonas Memorial Collection and Joaquín Nin-Culmell papers.

Microforms
Music microforms are located in the basement of the Rivera Library. Search in the library catalog for the keyword "Microform," and limit to material type "MUSIC SCORES."

Streaming Music
Patrons can listen to streamed music on such databases as Naxos (classical, jazz, and world music), Smithsonian Global Sound, Jazz Music Library, and DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music).