The UCR Library collects resources in the geosciences including geochemistry, seismology, paleontology, and climatology, supporting both coursework and research conducted by our students and faculty. We offer subject-specific and general research educational services at the library and provide access to information from the UC Libraries System and beyond.
Books & Articles
Books are useful for getting a broad introduction or background information in geosciences. Search by topic keywords in the Scotty (UCR) catalog or the Melvyl (UC) catalog. Examples of keyword search terms include:
- Evolutionary paleoecology
- California earthquakes
- Pacific ocean geochemistry
- Geology of
Scholarly articles are carefully evaluated (peer-reviewed) by subject experts to provide reliable and credible information. Locate articles in the geosciences databases. The most popular databases are listed on this page.
Most geoscience journals are purchased for the entire UC Library system and can be searched or browsed in the UC Journal Finder. Journals may also be located through the Scotty (UCR) catalog or the Melvyl (UC) catalog. Researchers publish in prominent interdisciplinary journals, such as Science, Nature, and the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.
Our faculty commonly publish in the following journals, showing the specialties and strengths of the department:
- Journal of Geophysical Research
- Bulletin of the Seismological Society of America
- Pure and Applied Geophysics
- Geophysical Journal International
- Geochimica et Cosmochimica Acta
- Organic Geochemistry
- Planetary and Space Science
- Earth and Planetary Science Letters
- Nature Geoscience
- Geological Society of America Bulletin
- Precambrian Research
- Journal of Hydrology
- Conservation Biology
- Journal of Biogeography
Atlases & Maps
Print and online atlases and maps are used as references to determine and document study sites and to spatially contextualize geographic aspects of geoscience research. Paper holdings at UCR Library are primarily topographic maps from the USGS and government mapping agencies of other countries. A good resource is the National Geologic Map Database, a free bibliographic dataset of United States maps from a variety of publishers.
Geosciences Data Sets
The Southern California Earthquake Data Center is the primary archive of seismological data for the region. The NOAA National Climatic Data Center provides historical climate datasets: temperature, precipitation, wind, and other measurements.
- Dictionary of Earth Sciences
- USGS Publications Warehouse - a searchable database contains references and links to Reports, Bulletins, Professional Papers, journal articles, and other publications written by USGS authors
- US Geological Survey: Maps, Imagery, and Publications current and historical USGS maps, aerial photographs, satellite images, and datasets
- State of California GIS Resource Center
- National Geographic Atlas of the World