The UCR Library collects electronic and print resources in the field of philosophy that support research and instruction at UCR. Topics include history of philosophy, logic, aesthetics, ethics, metaphysics, and ontology, epistemology. We offer subject-specific educational services at the library and also provide access to information from the UC Libraries System and beyond.
Books & Articles
Scholarly articles are carefully evaluated (peer-reviewed) by subject experts to provide reliable and credible information. Locate philosophy articles by searching in the philosophy databases. The most popular databases are listed on this page.
Many philosophy journals are found electronically and can be browsed in the UC Journal finder. Use the Scotty (UCR) catalog, with material type set to "periodical", to find journals that are available in the library.
- Philosopher’s Index - Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields.
- PhilPapers - A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Oxford Scholarship Online: Philosophy - Over 1,500 e-books on philosophy and related subjects
- Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker - A collection of German literature as well as historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts spanning eleven centuries
- Gale Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- University of Chicago Philosophy Resources – An excellent collection of links to philosophy resources online